Community Preservation Committee

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Current agendas, applications and reference material

View All Community Preservation Committee Meeting Minutes



  • Jeffrey Thomas - Park Commission 
  • Philip McKnight - Conservation Commission (Chair) 
  • Peter Mehlin - Housing Authority 
  • Pat Leach - Historical Commission
  • Jason Hoch - Town Manager
  • Daniel Gendron - Finance Committee
  • Joseph Finnegan - Resident (appointed by Selectmen)
  • Christopher Winters - Planning Board

The Community Preservation Act

The Community Preservation Act (the “CPA”, G.L c. 44B) allows any city or town in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to adopt a 1% to 3% property tax surcharge with revenues from this surcharge (and State matching funds) to be devoted to community housing (senior and affordable), historic preservation, open space, and outdoor recreation.

Committee Purpose
The voters of Williamstown adopted a surcharge of 2%, after excluding the first $100,000 of valuation, at the town election in May 2002. Consistent with the terms of the CPA, a Community Preservation Committee was formed to study and recommend how Williamstown’s CPA revenues should be spent each year.

The Community Preservation Committee’s recommendations are presented to the annual town meeting for final approval by the voters of all projects and expenditures.

Massachusetts General Law - Community Preservation Act